Most Anticipated Games of 2016!!

Most Anticipated Games of 2016!!

 

This year for me in gaming has been a bit underwhelming. Not as much to look forward to with all of the delays, and with many “AAA” titles not having the same spirit of gaming as games of old, which has led to me going back to play titles from previous generations that i’ve yet to play. BUT, there are still a couple of gems (or, at least i hope they turn out to be) to be released this year, and here are the top ones for me:

(Though some have already been released i’ve yet to play them, so i still added them to the list lol.  And all titles in blue can be clicked for more information on Story, Release Dates, Pre-order info, etc  )

the-last-guardian-screencap_1920.0.0

The Last Guardian:

This game has me unsure how to feel about it. With the first game i played from Team ICO being Shadow of the Colossus, i went into this game thinking ” if they can deliver the same magic of this game, I want it”, but then i played ICO. A decent game, similar signature TEAM ICO gritty, DARK, Jagged art style, but the hand holding gameplay and same mostly story-through-gameplay style didn’t grab me like SoTC (One of my favorite games of all time. It seems The Last Guardian might be following that same gameplay style, which worries me. That along with the delays has definitely dulled my hype for this game, but it’s still holding on for dear life.

GRavrushrema

Gravity Rush: Remastered:

I’ve been wanting to play this game for years, but having this and maybe a few other decent titles to play wasn’t really worth the price of a new handheld, especially with the tragic pricing of the proprietary memory card Sony decided requires you to buy to get the most out of it. Now that it has been remastered in beautiful HD on the PS4, i’m all in and can’t wait to get my hands on it at some point soon.

Final_Fantasy_Explorers_Logo

Final Fantasy Explorers:

It’s not a game type i’d usually play. I’ve never played a FF game, but something about this takes me back. So a bit of nostalgia, the fact that it has 4 player co-op (which is always a winner with me) and knowing it will be at a bargin bin price come holiday season and i’m in lol.

firewatch0122161280jpg-0d7b84_1280w

Firewatch:

(Note: Not every game has a special reason behind my wanting it. I just want it. For the rest that don’t have one, i’m going to leave it blank or put) “….” Lol. Beautiful art style and it’s seems like a great story driven FPS. Looking forward to it.

ratchet-and-clank-screen-06-ps4-eu-02jun15

Ratchet & Clank (PS4):

Waiting to see those amazing borderline Pixar movie quality graphics being played on-screen. I’m sad the movie that released along side the game didn’t do so well, but i’m also glad that it’s development didn’t rush this game’s dev time and make Insomniac push out a under polished disappointing game. According to reviews, the game came out great and does a great job of breathing life into the original story. Can’t wait to play it and give my own impressions.

Uncharted-4_drake-rope-bridge_1434429051

Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End:

Well…..it’s Uncharted. I’ve played all the others. Can’t miss out on the final chapter, Can I?  While UC3 was my least favorite out of the bunch, i’m hoping Uncharted will truly end the series with a bang. Hoping nobody dies, but the title would lead you to believe one of the main characters will 😥

valkyria-chronicles-remastered-ps4-review-3

Valkyria Chronicles Remastered:

This is really most anticipated because it’s a long time recommendation of others. This game better be mind blowingly good with all of the damn hype i’ve been hearing about this since it’s initial release on PS3. I’ll try my best to go into this with low expectations, but i hope to enjoy this.

MECatalyst Faith

Mirror’s Edge Catalyst:

Once again, trying to not get my hopes up for this one or be let down based on the reviews of others. After playing the original (The theme of which is one of favs for a video game. Right up there with the theme of Kingdom Hearts) I thought the gameplay was solid, and the universe had so much potential, but the story telling with the comic slide show style was a big let down for someone that loves a good story driven game with nice cut scenes. So when this game was announced I thought this would be take the best of the original, and add in the new to make a classic. Is it a classic? I’ll know when i play 😉

kirby_planet_robobot_box_art

Kirby: Planet Robotbot:

Who doesn’t love a good Kirby game? And there are robots. How can this not be good? lol.

hawken

Hawken:

This is the game that got me interested in the idea of FPS mech games before TitanFall came along. Still haven’t played it, and now that it’s coming to Consoles this year, I’ll get to ….As soon as i get another current gen console, since i sold my PS4 lol. BUT SOON!!!

 

recore-2

ReCore:

…… I just want it, and i’m being lazy lol. One thing that does worry me about this game is Keiji Inafune. Mighty No.9 came out terrible and all this man had to say about it was “well….it’s better than nothing”. What am i supposed to expect with this game? I know he hasn’t done bad work before this, which is why his name was previously so highly praised, but I’m being cautious about building hype for this game.

no-mans-sky-screen-10-ps4-eu-16jun14

No Man’s Sky:

Almost hit the Honorable Mentions list. It’s been many years and a couple delays since we’ve first hear about this game, and i still don’t know what this game is about. The idea of drifting through a game full of endless randomly generated planets with the only purpose of the gameplay being to……explore worries me. Seems like their is too much room for error with this game. I could be being overly cautious and it turns out to be a masterpiece, but I Know Nothing About It lol. Someone used the example of Minecraft having been created the same way, with no official purpose, but once the gamers got into the game they were about to play around with it create their own play styles, and games within the game. If that is possible….then there is much potential too. Looking forward to finally finding out if the game was worth the wait.

Honorable Mentions: ( They look interesting….But i don’t plan on getting them any time soon)

Doom
Gears of War 4
Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE
Star Ocean V: Integrity & Faithlessness 
Song Of The Deep
Metroid Prime Federation Force: I think people give this SPINOFF too much hate. It’s basically the FF: Crystal Chronicles of the Metroid Uni…..Nothing wrong with that.
Watch Dogs 2
Pokemon: Sun & Moon
Cuphead
Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth

That’s all folks! Let me know what games you’re looking forward to for the rest of this year, and if you’ve played or completed any game on the list drop me a comment! I’d love to know what you thought of them and whether you’d recommend I keep them on my list lol.

If you liked the post a share would be appreciated and follow for more posts like this. Also, if you’d like, you can follow me on twitter @Skywardking.

Thanks for Reading & #StaySkywardMyFriends 🙂

(Note: Games with blue text can be clicked for more information on the game’s Story and pre-order info on Amazon)

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Games of 2016!!

  1. Dark Souls 3, Tokyo Mirage Sessions, Valkyria Chronicles Remastered, and Uncharted 4 are games that have already released this year that I’d like to play sooner rather than later, but I’m short on time (and sucked in to Persona 4 Golden on Vita).

    As a huge fan of Metroid Prime, here’s hoping ReCore is far more interesting than the trailer lead on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard very good things about Persona 4 Golden. Would like to pick up a PS TV to play it cheap lol. Also same here about ReCore. It has that classic Rare Studios platformer feel to it from the trailer. Let’s just hope for the best.

      Like

      1. P4G is worth owning a Vita for by itself. It’s an incredible update to an already fantastic PS2 RPG.

        ReCore just looks… rough, I guess. The movement seems floaty or icy, if that makes sense? Definitely looks like a budget game so far.

        Like

      2. Price really isn’t a concern for me, seeing as how Ori and the Blind Forest and Journey were both $20 games and incredible to boot.

        The thing I found the most odd is that the game is $40, but the collector’s edition that only comes with a steelbook cover and a statue is three times that at $120.

        Like

Leave a Reply

