Will The Nintendo Switch Sink Or Save The Company? (My Thoughts)

Will The Nintendo Switch Sink Or Save The Company? (My Thoughts)

The Nintendo NX has been finally revealed as The Nintendo…..Switch. Yes the name makes sense, but lets just call it NS πŸ™‚

Here are my thoughts…

Other than the name, i like it. Or at least what the demo claims it could offer me if things go as planned. Though I definitely can see myself organizing a MK8 meet up with this.

I did come out of the preview feeling dissatisfied. Mostly because we didn’t get much confirmation on anything other than it being a hybrid and that it uses carts instead of disks.

I felt we were given more questions than answers, and according to rumor we may not be getting important spec details until early 2017. Which is a tad frustrating because I feel that after all of that time dealing with fakes and rumors that we deserved a Treehouse type of event or at least a 30 min direct.

We were shown that the there are a decent amount of top tier devs/publishers committed to supporting the NS aka Switch…

nintendo-switch-3rd-party

Some that have even come out before stating how they were enjoying the experience of working with the NX devkit. But i refuse to get hyped for that for two reasons:

  • The Wii U had a nice list of devs that were talking the pleasures of developing for the console pre-launch, but we know how that turned out…
  • Not all platform support is good support….remember the gimped ports that the Wii u received before you jump for joy. Missing Features, No DLC , Poor performance, Etc.

I definitely wish for this to work out as it should or how we are hoping it will, but things haven’t been going that way for a long time now. Still keeping hope alive though…

download-3.jpg.jpg

So how do i feel about the hardware? I like it. I have to get my hands on the Joy-Con controllers to get a feel for them. Especially with them looking kinda small, and me being someone with bigger hands, i can’t see myself using them separately for multiplayer as shown in the preview video.

I just wish we would have gotten more details. Internal Storage Capacity, Does it have Expandable storage?,Battery Life, Screen Resolution, When the Joy-con are disconnected from the screen does that decrease battery life? (Assuming it uses their internal batteries to extend it’s life. Why wouldn’t it?) Launch titles, Pricing, Internal Specs of the device, does the docking station increase the graphical power of the NS when plugged in?

We Got None of that….

So that’s a bummer, but it is what it is.

Know what else is a bummer? This so-called DPad on the default controller:nintendo-switch-joy-con-controller-modded

I know they did this so they could double as Y,X,A,B buttons for multiplayer when detached from the screen, but i don’t think it’s worth it. How is this going to feel for fighters or 2D side scrollers? This just seems like a major sacrifice for a concept that i’m sure most won’t take advantage of once the novelty wears off (Like 3D on the 3DS).

But thankfully there is the Nintendo Switch Pro controller:

nintendo-switch-pro-controller

Proper controller with bigger face buttons and a true D-pad. As long as this isn’t super expensive, i’ll be alright with this.

As far as games, we’ve seen footage of what looks like a New Mario, what looks like an updated version of MK8, Splatoon and Elder Scrolls Skyrim…. That was a surprise. I’ve never played that game, but i’m interested in trying it on this device. Hopefully it’s a launch title.

One of the most appealing things about the NS is the killing off of the division between Nintendo console and handheld games. Now you buy one device and you have access to them all and no more ported versions of games getting exclusive content on one Nintendo Device (Hyrule Warriors 3DS for example). Now we will be able to play pokemon on the Go and In The Home. And hasn’t that always been the dream? lol

Bottom Line:

Nintendo sold me on the concept, But as we’ve seen with the Wii U, it’s not intention that matters. It takes proper EXECUTION. This could be the one to bring Nintendo back to the top or sink the whole ship. If course I’m hoping for the former.

With great pricing of around $250 to $300 max, proper online system (None of that Miiverse Nonsense, unless it gets a major overhaul) with stable online play and text and voice chat and a great library of games, this could be what we wanted in the Wii U.

It has the potential to rock the gaming world Pokemon Go style if Nintendo learned from their mistakes of last gen and are willing to get rid if their out dated ways of doing things. No more cutting out online multiplayer to force people to play locally and no more limited social features because they fear that they will be misused. That is an understandable worry, but they shouldn’t try to play big brother or gimp the multiplayer experience, which is an essential piece of modern gaming, out of paranoia.

Those are my thoughts. So far I’m happy with what I see, but I need more before I’ll be jumping in line to get my pre-order.

The wait continues…

 

Thanks for reading. I’d like to know what you all liked or didn’t like about the Nintendo Switch reveal. Was the preview enough to build hype for you or do they still need to prove themselves after their past failures? Let me know in the comments and please follow the blog if you enjoyed and would like to see more posts like this.

#LiveSkyward

5 thoughts on “Will The Nintendo Switch Sink Or Save The Company? (My Thoughts)

  1. I’m not much of a Nintendo collector… last console is the Wii and I mainly play it not because mine lets me play my Rogue Squadron discs… but the Switch is something I could get into. I prefer handheld consoles over mobiles/tablets for games and this thing looks impressive. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

